Milwaukee Sex Crime Lawyer
We Take Your Charges Seriously
The consequences of sex crime allegations can be extreme, even if you have been falsely accused. Not only could you potentially face extensive jail time, but after you have served your time, you would have to deal with the negative effects of sex offender registration.
If you or someone you love has been accused of a sex offense, you need to act quickly to obtain an aggressive legal advocate who is willing to fight for you. Look no further than Schiro Criminal Defense. Our Milwaukee sex crime attorney, John S. Schiro, has over four decades of experience and is driven to get the results our clients deserve.
Call (414) 404-5033 or contact us online today to discuss your case with our skilled criminal defense lawyer during a free phone consultation. We look forward to helping you protect your rights and freedom.
TYPES OF SEX OFFENSES
No matter what sexual offense charges you are facing, it is important to fight for your rights. Attorney Schiro is here to help.
Contact our office today for an aggressive, strategic defense against sexual offense charges, including:
- Prostitution (providing or purchasing)
- Sexual assault
- Date rape
- Sexual enticement of a child
- Sexual assault of a child
- Underage sexual contact
- Sexual exploitation by a therapist
- Internet sex crimes
- Illegal use of a computer to facilitate a sex offense
WHAT ARE THE SEXUAL ASSAULT CHARGES & PENALTIES?
In Wisconsin, some of the most common and most serious sex offenses are those involving sexual assault. When dealing with adults, there are four degrees of sexual assault, with the first degree being the most serious. The degree, or severity level, of the offense is based on the amount of force or violence that was used, whether weapons were involved, and any other aggravating factors.
The four levels of sexual assault in Wisconsin include:
- First-degree sexual assault – Includes non-consensual sexual contact or intercourse that results in pregnancy or severe bodily harm, was committed with the threat of a dangerous weapon, or involved the use of threat of force or violence while being aided or abetted by one or more persons. This offense is charged as a Class B felony, punishable by up to 60 years in prison.
- Second-degree sexual assault – Sexual intercourse or contact under a variety of circumstances, including use or threat of force or violence, being aided by one or more persons, or causing injury, mental anguish, disease, or mental impairment to the victim. This crime is considered a Class C felony and carries a maximum fine of $100,000 and up to 40 years in prison.
- Third-degree sexual assault – Sexual intercourse with an individual who has not given their consent, or sexual contact involving urine, feces, or intentional ejaculation of either the offender or the victim on either person’s clothed or naked body, for the purpose of sexual gratification or humiliation. This level of sexual assault is charged as a Class G felony and can result in a fine of up to $25,000 and 10 years in prison.
- Fourth-degree sexual assault – Non-consensual sexual contact that involves intentional touching for the purpose of sexual gratification for the offender or sexual humiliation for the victim. This consists of the touching of each other’s intimate parts, whether directly or through clothing. Sexual assault in the fourth degree is a Class A misdemeanor, carrying a sentence of up to 9 months in jail and a $10,000 fine.
If the sexual assault victim is a child, the defendant will be charged under the Sexual Assault of a Child statute. This law is divided into two levels, first-degree and second-degree sexual assault. This type of sex offense can be charged as either a Class A, B, or C felony. A Class A felony can land the defendant in prison for life.
Sex Offender Registry
Charges for sexual offenses can have a disastrous, permanent impact on your life. Schiro Criminal Defense will be an aggressive advocate and fight to get your charges reduced or dropped.
If you are convicted, adjudicated, or committed for any registerable sexual offense* on or after 12/25/1993, you must register on the federal Sex Offender Registry. You also must register if you have been in prison, on probation or in a mental or county correctional institution for a registerable offense since that date.
Also, you are required to add your name to the state registry if you live, work or attend school in Wisconsin and:
- You are required to register with another state/jurisdiction
- You were convicted of a sexual offense in a military, tribal or federal court
- You were convicted in another state of an offense comparable to one of Wisconsin’s registerable offenses
- You are a juvenile who is on supervision and enters Wisconsin under the Interstate Compact Agreement
Let Schiro Criminal Defense fight for your rights, your reputation and your freedom.
* A detailed description of the circumstances that require registration as a sex offender can be found in WI Statute 301.45
Let Us Fight for Your Freedom
Sex crime charges are serious and can have a long-lasting impact on your life. Schiro Criminal Defense is here to aggressively advocate on your behalf to get your charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Contact us online or call us at (414) 404-5033 now to speak to our Milwaukee sex crime lawyer about your case.
Strong Success RateTake a Look at Real Case Outcomes
Assault & Battery Not Guilty
Client Avoids Serious Sex Charges Dismissed
Drunk Driving Acquittal Not Guilty
Ozaukee County v. H.A. Not Guilty
State of Wisconsin v. C.B. Dismissed
State of Wisconsin v. D.N. Milwaukee County Not Guilty
State v. A.A. Dismissed
State v. A.A. (2018) Milwaukee County Case Dismissed
State v. A.B. Dismissed
State v. A.E. Milwaukee County Dismissed